Multiple awards were presented at the annual faculty/staff recognition ceremony at North Central Missouri College. Employees and departments we recognized for their achievements so far this year. Beth Crawford, Jeffrey Jackson, Janet Pultz, Sue Nichols, Janet Gott, and Sarah Bonnett were recognized for their years of service and retirement from NCMC.

Receiving recognition and awarded Emeriti status upon retirement were Beth Crawford, Janet Gott, and Sue Nichols. This prestigious title is awarded to professional and instructional retirees from NCMC who have dedicated twenty years or more of full-time service to NCMC. Individuals have to be recommended and approved by the Board of Trustees. Emeritus is an honorable title for personnel who have retired with long, successful careers and contributions to North Central Missouri College.

Outstanding Employee Spotlights for the year were identified: Merribeth Copeland, Korynn Skipper, Jeffrey Grider, Colton Greer, Rick Sharp, Megan Erickson, Sarah Bonnett, Sophia Swink, Janet Gott, and Kael Brock. Dr. Lenny Klaver, President, also praised and recognized those whose positive comments were received by the president’s office.

Also recognized were those who earned advanced education degrees: Brandon Mysliwiec, Masters of Business Administration in IT Management; Hannah Lovett, Associate in Arts from NCMC; Nicole Shell, Bachelor of Science in Business Management; Andra Schuelke, Masters of Science in Nursing; and Jessie Tabbert, Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

Members of the NCMC family were recognized with years of service awards. Jennifer Triplett and Merribeth Copeland were recognized for five years of service. Vel Westbrook, Tricia Key, Megan Pester, Jayne Meservey, Tocarra Williams, and Lisa Kauten were recognized for ten years of service. Whitney Trump and Ronda Copple were recognized for fifteen years of service. Dr. Susan Stull and Sarah Bird were recognized for twenty years of service.

The Advising Department was awarded the Ausmus Mini Grant awarding $250 from the NCMC Foundation to further advance a project submitted for funding.

Dr. Beth Caldarello awarded the NCMC Spirit Award. The NCMC Spirit Award recognizes an employee that has demonstrated great morale and a positive attitude. The recipient is selected based on their overall NCMC spirit, enthusiasm, involvement, encouragement toward others, helpfulness, and optimistic outlook.

The Diversity and Inclusion Award is an acknowledgment bestowed upon an individual who actively promotes inclusive excellence. This person contributes to and enhances the environment of North Central Missouri College through a sustained commitment to maintain and improve opportunities for the diverse communities we serve. The Diversity and Inclusion Award was presented to Joni Oaks and Tami Campbell.

The Shipley Excellence in Assessment Award was presented to the Library and Library Services. This award recognizes an individual or department that has accomplished meaningful assessment to improve student learning or services and is named in honor of NCMC Professor Emeritus Melody Shipley.

Faculty member Cassie Corday, Education Instructor was announced as this year’s Excellence in Teaching Award winner. The Excellence in Teaching Award is an honor given to a faculty member who demonstrates a clear vision of teaching, substantial contribution to the improvement of teaching methods and curriculum, captivating presenter, leader, responsible, and expert in their field.

Skylar Bonnett was awarded the Outstanding Student Employee award for this year. The Outstanding Student employee award is given annually to one NCMC student employee who has exceeded their position requirements while maintaining a positive attitude and demeanor. This individual represents what it is to be a professional, hard-working, and reliable student employee.

In honor of long-time employee John Campbell, Lead Maintenance. The John Campbell Dedication Award is given to individuals who have shown dedication and commitment to North Central Missouri College, their department, peers, and their job. An individual that goes above and beyond to help others and the college. This year, the award was presented to Maryellen Harman.

The Outstanding Employee Randy Young Top Sail Award is annually given to an individual who has significantly helped NCMC become a better place through their leadership, performance, attitude, and accomplishments. Employees are nominated by other employees and selected by each group’s president and respected presidents (AMP, classified, faculty, students). This is the most prestigious award given each year. It is named in honor of Emeritus Randy Young. Alicia Endicott, NCMC Foundation Director, was awarded the Randy Young Top Sail Award this year.

This year’s Brown-Pushkarsky Award winner, selected by members of the student body, was faculty member Amy Guthrie, English Instructor. The Brown-Pushkarsky Award, named in honor of NCMC Professors Emeritus Tom Brown and Louis Pushkarsky, recognizes an instructor who best exemplifies their dedication to teaching.

The Brown-Allnutt Award was presented to Angela Heins, SSS Academic Advisor.  The Brown-Allnutt Award is named in honor of staff members Lee Ann Allnutt and Linda Brown. This award is designated for a staff member who has provided exemplary service to students; the student body also chooses it.

The student body also presented the Nowland Excellent Student Organization Advisor. This award is presented to an individual that provides leadership, growth, and commitment to the student organization they advise. This year’s recipient was Christina Boatright, BSU Advisor. This award is named in honor of retired faculty member David Nowland.

Share this post:


Connect with Us:

More Articles:

KCC Elevator Maintenance

The North Central Missouri College Ketcham Community Center elevator will be down from May 28 to June 28…

Closed on Memorial Day

North Central Missouri College and the Ketcham Community Center will be closed on Monday, May 27, in observance…